Best smart ring 2026: what an Oura Ring really costs in the UK with membership, and the rings that charge no fee

m8d.ioUpdated on

Black smart ring resting on its clear charging base
Steel smart ring seen side-on, with the optical sensors on the inside

The best smart ring for most people is the RingConn Gen 2 Air: its maker publishes no membership fee, up to 10 days of battery and the phone versions it needs. For sleep analysis, the Oura Ring 4, counting its £5.99 a month from day one; to try the format, the BANLVS R09.

Pick your case and the product card appears below
RingConn Gen 2 Air smart ring in PVD-coated steel, up to 10 days of declared battery, a no-fee app according to its maker, for iOS 17 and Android 10
m8d pick · the total you can close before payingRingConn Gen 2 Air

Ten days of battery on its spec page, iOS and Android versions published, and its maker says the app charges no fee

See it on Amazon ›
The full sum

How much an Oura Ring really costs in the UK once the £5.99 membership is counted

A smart ring has two prices, and the second one is not on the label. The ring records and stores; what turns those readings into something you can understand is the maker's app, and that app is paid for in one of two ways that do not compare the same: a monthly fee you can see, or access included that you cannot inspect before paying. In the UK, Oura publishes its fee on ouraring.com: £5.99 a month or £69.99 a year, with one included month for new members (read on 22 September 2026). Its help centre adds that "There currently is no option to purchase or upgrade to a Lifetime Membership".

Over three years that is £209.65 on the monthly plan, 35 payments after the free month, and £209.97 paying yearly: almost the same money either way, and money that sits on top of whatever the ring itself costs you.

Smart ring cost calculator: the three-year total with the Oura membership counted

The guides at the top of this search quote Oura's £5.99 a month and stop there. This smart ring cost calculator from m8d.io puts the label price you pick and the fee each maker publishes into one sum, with a phone compatibility checker underneath. With the figures it opens on (a £300 label price, Oura's monthly membership and three years), the total is £510, £14.16 for each month of wear, and 41% of that money is membership rather than ring. Free, no account needed.

What the ring costs, and what its app costsWith a smart ring you pay for the hardware once, and the app can charge every month. Pick the price you are looking at, the fee its maker publishes and the years you plan to wear it: out comes the total, how much of it is membership and what it works out at per month, with the sum in full view.
The price you are looking at
What its app charges
How many years you will wear it
What you pay in 3 years£510the ring plus 35 monthly payments for its app. The membership is 41% of what you will pay
£14.16a month of wear, with the ring spread over the 36 months, which is what wearing it really costs you
£210in membership alone, before the hardware, with 1 included month taken off
70%more than the ring's label price by the end of the period

The £300 price plus £5.99 a month for 35 of the 36 months comes to £210 in membership and £510 in total. Spread over the 36 months, that is £14.16 a month.

And this is what happens the month you stop paying. Oura publishes that without an active membership you can still see "your three daily Oura scores (Readiness, Activity, and Sleep), ring battery, basic profile information, app settings, and the Explore content", and that you lose everything else the app interprets, including the Oura API, which it says "you cannot access" without it. The ring keeps recording and stays yours: what switches off is the part of the app that interprets the readings. If that interpretation is exactly what you want, the membership is not an extra, it is the product.

Set side by side: by the end of year 3 this price with its membership has cost £510, while a ring whose maker publishes no fee still costs its label and nothing more. The closed sum is the better buy whenever the fee-free app does what you need; the membership earns its place only when the paid analysis is exactly what you are after.

The ruleThe price of a smart ring is not the number on the label: it is that number plus whatever its app charges for as long as you wear it. Before comparing two rings, multiply each one's monthly fee by the months you expect to wear it (36 for three years) and add it on. If one of them does not say whether it charges, you do not have its price yet.
RingConn Gen 2 Air smart ring in PVD-coated steel, up to 10 days of declared battery, a no-fee app according to its maker, for iOS 17 and Android 10
The ring whose total closes on the day you buy: its maker publishes that the app charges no feeRingConn Gen 2 AirSee it on Amazon ›
Smart ring phone compatibility checkerA ring without its maker's app shows you nothing, and not every app is on both systems. Pick your phone and you get what each maker publishes, with the minimum version it asks for and the source underneath.
Which phone you have
  • Oura Ring 4 and Ring 5: worksNeeds iOS 16 or later. App: Oura. Fee: £5.99 a month or £69.99 a year in the UK. Oura help centre (requirements, read by m8d on 8 September 2026) and ouraring.com (UK price, read on 22 September 2026)
  • RingConn Gen 2 Air and Gen 3: worksNeeds iOS 17.0 or later. App: RingConn. Fee: "Subscription Fee: No" in its comparison table. ringconn.com, read on 22 September 2026
  • Ultrahuman Ring AIR: worksNeeds iOS 15 or later. App: Ultrahuman. Fee: no recurring fee to access your data; optional extras sold separately. ultrahuman.com FAQ, read on 22 September 2026
  • Samsung Galaxy Ring: does not workIts maker publishes it: it only works paired with an Android phone. App: Galaxy Wearable, Samsung Health 6.27 or later and a Samsung account. Fee: Samsung publishes no fee for it. samsung.com/uk, read on 22 September 2026
  • The other 19 rings in m8d's count: not statedIts listing does not say which phone it works with or what the app it needs is called. m8d's count of eleven searches on Amazon's Spanish store, 8 September 2026

The sum is arithmetic with no correction factor: the ring is paid once and the fee is multiplied by the months left after any months the maker includes free. The prices to pick from are round figures from entry level to the top of the range, and none of them is the price of a particular ring today. The fees and compatibility are what each maker publishes on its own website, read on 22/09/2026, and each line says which. The six years are the time limit set by the Limitation Act 1980 (section 5, England and Wales), which is how long you have to bring a claim under the Consumer Rights Act 2015. A fee can change next month: the figure that counts is the one on the maker's website on the day you buy.

If you stop paying

Is an Oura Ring worth it without the membership? What still works if you stop paying

Oura answers this itself, in its help page on membership (updated 8 September 2026): without an active membership "you'll only be able to see your three daily Oura scores (Readiness, Activity, and Sleep), ring battery, basic profile information, app settings, and the Explore content", and "Without an active membership, you cannot access the Oura API". The ring keeps recording and it is still yours; what goes is the part of the app that interprets the readings.

So the question is not whether the ring works without the fee but what you bought it for. If you wanted a daily sleep score, the free tier keeps it. If you wanted the trends, the explanations and the guidance, those are what the £5.99 pays for, and they stop the month you stop paying.

If the ring is for sleep analysis, we would count the membership as part of its price from the first day. Over three years it adds £209.65 on the monthly plan, and Oura's own help lists three daily scores as all that remains without it. Anyone buying for the interpretation is buying the membership with a ring included, not the other way round.

The promise in the title

Smart rings without a subscription: what "no fee" covers, and what is still sold on top

"No subscription" has become the headline of this category, and it means different things depending on where you read it. In a shop title nobody stands behind it; on the maker's own site you can read either a fee or its written absence. RingConn's comparison table puts "Subscription Fee: No" against its three current rings, and Ultrahuman writes that "there are no recurring subscription fees for accessing your data" (both read on 22 September 2026). When a category sells on what it does not charge, the fee is the comparison that matters.

What a smart ring says about its fee, and what you can check

The word subscription appears in two places and does not mean the same in both: in a shop title, where nobody backs it up, and on the maker's website, where you can read a figure or the written absence of one. These four readings are dated, and each one can be checked in a click.

What the listing says
"No subscription", near the top of the title and often ahead of any sensor. Six of the 27 rings m8d counted on Amazon's Spanish store on 8 September 2026 wrote it in their title, and none of the six said which app it referred to.
What each maker publishes
RingConn: "there is no monthly subscription fee for current RingConn rings" (cost guide, 26 June 2026) and "Subscription Fee: No" in its comparison table. Ultrahuman: "there are no recurring subscription fees for accessing your data". Oura publishes the figure: £5.99 a month or £69.99 a year in the UK, with one included month for new members.
What neither side says
The name of the app. Without it you cannot open the app store before buying and see when it was last updated, what permissions it asks for or how it is rated, which is the only way to know whether the software behind a ring is alive.
The detail that changes the sum
No subscription does not always mean never paying again. Ultrahuman, which writes that there is no fee to access your data, also sells software add-ons it calls PowerPlugs and a protection plan, UltrahumanX, in one-year and two-year versions. They do not lock your data, so the claim still holds, and they are extra money if you take them.

m8d rule: "No subscription" is a promise about today's app, not the one in three years. What you can check before paying is the opposite case: if a maker publishes a fee, multiply it by the months you plan to wear the ring and add it to the label. If a ring does not say whether it charges, you do not know its price yet.

RingFeeDeclared batteryiPhoneAndroidApp
RingConn Gen 2 AirRingConn Gen 2 Air view ›None, per its makerUp to 10 daysiOS 17 or laterAndroid 10 or laterRingConnView ›
RingConn Gen 3RingConn Gen 3 view ›None, per its makerUp to 14 daysiOS 17 or laterAndroid 10 or laterRingConnView ›
OURA Ring 4OURA Ring 4 view ›Monthly or yearly membership8 days in the listing, 5 to 8 in its helpiOS 16 or laterAndroid 11 with Google PlayOuraView ›
OURA Ring 5OURA Ring 5 view ›The same Oura membership6 to 9 daysiOS 16 or laterAndroid 11 with Google PlayOuraView ›
ULTRAHUMAN Ring AIRULTRAHUMAN Ring AIR view ›No fee for your data; extras sold separately4 to 6 daysiOS 15 or laterAndroid 6 or laterUltrahumanView ›
opove O Ringopove O Ring view ›No subscription, per its listing8 to 12 daysNot stated in its listingNot stated in its listingNot statedView ›
BANLVS R09BANLVS R09 view ›No subscription, per its listingNot statedNot stated in its listingNot stated in its listingNot statedView ›
HOU Ceramic smart ringHOU Ceramic smart ring view ›No subscription, per its listingNot statedNot stated in its listingNot stated in its listingNot statedView ›

The first five rows come from each maker's website (RingConn and Ultrahuman read on 22 September 2026, Oura's UK prices the same day and its app requirements on 8 September 2026); rows with no maker's page come from the title of the listing m8d read on 8 September 2026. Look at the last column: it is what separates a ring you can research before buying from one you cannot.

RingConn Gen 2 Air smart ring in PVD-coated steel, up to 10 days of declared battery, a no-fee app according to its maker, for iOS 17 and Android 10
m8d pick · the total you can close before paying

RingConn Gen 2 Air view ›

m8d verdict

For anyone who wants sleep data every night without a monthly bill behind it. Its maker publishes the battery figure, the app requirements and, in its own comparison table, "Subscription Fee: No". With those three things the label price is the final price, which is what lets you compare it honestly with any other ring. It is the pick of this guide for a first ring.

What you should know
  • Its maker's page declares up to 10 days of battery on a full charge, "depending on ring size". It is a figure you can compare with other rings, and the budget listings in this guide do not write one.
  • RingConn publishes the exact requirements of its app: "iOS 17.0+, Android 10.0+, Bluetooth 4.0 and above". That is the line that decides whether the ring works with your phone, and it is on the maker's page, not in the shop listing.
  • The material it declares is "Titanium Steels, PVD Coating, Medical-Grade Epoxy Resin": coated steel rather than solid titanium. RingConn's own comparison table keeps titanium for the Gen 2 and the Gen 3. The difference shows in how it scratches over the years, not in what it measures.
  • RingConn's comparison table puts "Subscription Fee: No" against it (read on 22 September 2026). With no fee, the label price is the final price, which is the only case where two rings can be compared number for number.
+Pros
  • Writes its days of battery on its own spec page
  • Its maker states in writing that the app charges no fee
  • iOS and Android requirements published with their minimum version
  • A sizing kit of its own, sold separately, to try the size first
−Cons
  • Coated steel rather than titanium: its maker keeps titanium for the models above
  • No vibration alerts or vascular trends, which its table marks as Gen 3 only
  • The shop listing does not name the app you need to see everything
See it on Amazon ›Price and availability shown on Amazon for your country
Cheaper over time

Is there a cheaper alternative to the Oura Ring? Compare the total over the years, not the label

The honest answer depends on the years, not on the label. A ring whose maker publishes no fee costs its label price and nothing more for as long as you wear it; an Oura costs its label plus £209.65 over three years, or £425.29 over six, on the monthly plan. So a no-fee ring with a higher label can still be the cheaper ring by the end of year two or three, and the calculator above does that comparison with the prices you are looking at.

At the other end, the budget rings are cheaper on day one and harder to compare: the two below write "no subscription" in their titles, and neither says how long its battery lasts or what its app is called.

BANLVS R09 smart ring with heart rate, heart rate variability, blood oxygen, temperature and IP68, with a no-subscription app according to its listing
The entry ring that declares the most

BANLVS R09 view ›

m8d verdict

For checking whether the format suits you before spending several times more, and for a low-risk gift. Its listing names a temperature sensor, heart rate variability, blood oxygen and IP68, which is more than most budget rings declare. What it does not say is how long the battery lasts or what its app is called, and those are the two things to check before paying.

What you should know
  • It writes "Temp" in its title: the skin temperature sensor is what separates a step counter from a ring that follows your sleep, and very few budget listings name it.
  • IP68 means it withstands dust and immersion, which covers the shower and wet hands. The 176 sports modes, on a ring with no GPS and no screen, are app labels for sorting what it already measures, not new readings.
  • Its listing says the app has no subscription but does not say what the app is called. Without that name you cannot look it up in the app store before buying to see when it was last updated or how it is rated, which is the only way to know whether the software is alive.
  • It does not state its battery life. That is the figure you notice most on a device you also wear at night, because the day it charges is the day it does not record.
+Pros
  • Names the temperature sensor in its title
  • Declares IP68, which covers the shower and wet hands
  • Its listing states that the app has no subscription
  • The tier where you can try the format without committing the budget
−Cons
  • Does not say how many days the battery lasts
  • Does not name its app, so you cannot check it before buying
  • Its model number is also sold under other brand names
See it on Amazon ›Price and availability shown on Amazon for your country
HOU black ceramic smart ring with no subscription, sold size by size, with a listing that declares three things
What a short listing tells you, and what it leaves out

HOU Ceramic smart ring view ›

m8d verdict

For anyone after the format and the look at the price of a budget ring, knowing what they cannot check before paying. Its whole listing fits in one line and says three things: no subscription, black ceramic and which size. It does not say how many days it lasts, what it records, which phone it works with or what its app is called, which are the four things you compare one ring with another on.

What you should know
  • Its full title runs to sixty-five characters when the shop allows a hundred and sixty, and it declares three things: no subscription, black ceramic and the size. Most rings at its level fill the space with sensors.
  • It is sold once per size: in m8d's count of Amazon's Spanish store on 8 September 2026 there were four separate listings of the same ring, one for each size.
  • Ceramic is the least common material among the rings in this guide. Against steel it does not scratch the same way, and in exchange a hard knock on an edge costs more.
  • Writing "no subscription" in such a short title says what the selling point of this whole tier is: the fee comes before any sensor.
+Pros
  • Black ceramic, the least common material here
  • Puts "no subscription" ahead of any sensor
  • Sold size by size, so you pick yours directly
−Cons
  • Does not declare battery, sensors, water resistance or app
  • The size is bought blind: there is no sizing kit for this ring
  • No maker's spec page to check what the listing says
See it on Amazon ›Price and availability shown on Amazon for your country
Two generations

Oura Ring 5 vs Oura Ring 4: what changes between the two generations, and what Oura says does not

Most guides still compare the Ring 4, and Oura already sells the Ring 5 alongside it. The two generations are on sale at the same time, with different sizing kits, and the maker settles the comparison between them in one sentence of its own help.

What you pay extra for between the Ring 4 and the Ring 5, according to Oura

The two generations sit side by side in shops at different prices, and the difference is usually told as if it were about features. Oura's own help, updated on 27 July 2026, says otherwise.

What changes, with its figures
"40% less volume" than the Ring 4. 6.09 mm wide and 2.28 mm thick. A battery of "typically 6-9 days" against "5-8 days" for the previous generation. Water resistance of "100m/328ft, suitable for sauna and water sports but not diving".
What Oura writes does not change
"Oura Ring 5 with active membership includes all of the same features as found on Oura Ring 4". With the membership active, the features are the same in both generations.
And the fee does not change either
The membership is the same for both generations: £5.99 a month or £69.99 a year in the UK. Buying the new generation does not cut that part of the sum by a penny, and over three years it is £209.65 on the monthly plan.
What to do with that
If the reason to move up a generation is to feel it less on the finger or to charge it less often, the difference is real and it has figures. If the reason was a feature the Ring 4 lacks, the sentence above says that feature does not exist today.

m8d rule: Between two generations of the same ring, the first thing to look for is not the list of new features: it is the sentence where the maker says which features they share. If it says they are the same, what you pay extra for is size, battery and materials, and that is decided by looking at your finger, not the spec sheet.

Oura Ring 5 titanium smart ring with 40 per cent less volume than the Ring 4, 6 to 9 days of declared battery and 100 metres of water resistance
The new generation, with the same fee

OURA Ring 5 view ›

m8d verdict

For anyone who already knows they want Oura's analysis and wants to feel it as little as possible on the finger. Its maker declares 40% less volume than the Ring 4, 6 to 9 days against 5 to 8, and water resistance to 100 metres. It also writes what does not change, which is what matters for the decision: with an active membership it has "all of the same features as found on Oura Ring 4".

What you should know
  • The sentence that settles the purchase is in Oura's own help (updated 27 July 2026): "Oura Ring 5 with active membership includes all of the same features as found on Oura Ring 4". What you pay extra for between the two generations is size and battery, not features.
  • The figures of the change, from the same page: "40% less volume", 6.09 mm wide, 2.28 mm thick and "typically 6-9 days" of battery against "5-8 days" for the Ring 4. One more day of battery in a smaller ring.
  • The water resistance it declares is "100m/328ft, suitable for sauna and water sports but not diving". The sauna is named on purpose: it is the condition that punishes a battery-powered device worn against the skin the most.
  • The membership is exactly the same as the Ring 4's, with no discount for the new generation. Buying the new one does not change that part of the sum by a penny.
  • Its sizes are its own: Oura's help lists the Ring 5 in sizes 6 to 13 and the Ring 4 in sizes 4 to 15, so the size of one model does not carry over to the other.
+Pros
  • 40% less volume than the Ring 4, declared by its maker
  • 6 to 9 days of battery, one more than the previous generation
  • Water resistance to 100 metres, with the sauna named explicitly
  • Titanium body
−Cons
  • With an active membership, its maker writes that it has the same features as the Ring 4
  • Same monthly fee as the previous generation
  • A narrower size range than the Ring 4: 6 to 13
See it on Amazon ›Price and availability shown on Amazon for your country
RingConn Gen 3 titanium smart ring with vascular trends, vibration alerts, up to 14 days of declared battery and a no-fee app
The no-fee ceiling, with the longest declared battery

RingConn Gen 3 view ›

m8d verdict

For anyone who will wear it for years and does not want to think about the charger or a bill. Its maker declares up to 14 days, the longest battery in this guide, titanium instead of coated steel, and two features its own table marks as exclusive to this generation: vascular trends and vibration alerts. Still no fee, so the label price is still the final price.

What you should know
  • Its official comparison table says "Up to 14 days" against "Up to 12 days" for the Gen 2 and "Up to 10 days" for the Gen 2 Air. It is the only battery step within one family documented by the maker itself in this guide.
  • What changes against the Gen 2 Air, per the same table: titanium instead of coated steel, 2.3 mm thick and 2.5 to 3.5 grams, and two features marked as exclusive to this generation, vascular trends and vibration alerts.
  • Vibration alerts are the biggest practical difference on the list: a ring with no screen and no vibration can only be read on the phone, while a vibrating one can wake you silently. It is a hardware feature, so it does not arrive by update on the models below.
  • RingConn states in its cost guide (26 June 2026) that "there is no monthly subscription fee for current RingConn rings", and its comparison table says "Subscription Fee: No" (read on 22 September 2026).
+Pros
  • Fourteen days of declared battery, the highest figure in this guide
  • Titanium with epoxy resin, per its own comparison table
  • Vibration alerts, which do not reach the models below by update
  • No fee, stated in writing by its maker
−Cons
  • The top tier among the rings without a fee
  • Vascular trends are a trend reading, not a clinical one
  • Its listing does not name the app you need either
See it on Amazon ›Price and availability shown on Amazon for your country
Phone first

Smart rings for iPhone and Android: the minimum version each maker asks for, and why the Galaxy Ring needs Android

A ring without its maker's app shows you nothing, so compatibility is not a technical footnote: it is the first question. The answer is spread over four websites, because shop listings rarely carry it, and one of the four explains why the most familiar phone brand in the ring aisle is not an option with an iPhone.

Which phone each maker asks for, with its minimum version
  • Ultrahuman Ring AIR, the widest. "iPhones operating on iOS 15 or newer, as well as Android devices functioning on Android 6 or subsequent versions" (FAQ, read on 22 September 2026). It is the one that runs on the oldest phones.
  • Oura Ring 4 and Ring 5. iOS 16 or later, or Android 11 or later with Google Play services, and Bluetooth 5.0 (Oura help, read by m8d on 8 September 2026). They work with iPhone and Android alike.
  • RingConn Gen 2 Air and Gen 3. "iOS 17.0+, Android 10.0+, Bluetooth 4.0 and above" (read on 22 September 2026). The newest iOS on the list, and in exchange an older Android than Oura's.
  • Samsung Galaxy Ring, the one that leaves the iPhone out. Samsung's UK page says it "must be paired with a smartphone with Android 11.0 or above and minimum 1.5GB Memory", with the Galaxy Wearable app, Samsung Health 6.27 or later and a Samsung account. With an iPhone there is no way to pair it.
  • The budget rings. They rarely say which phone they work with or what their app is called, and a line such as "compatible with iOS and Android" without a version is an intention, not a requirement, on systems that update every year.
OURA Ring 4 titanium smart ring with sleep analysis, up to 8 days of declared battery, and a membership its maker publishes with price and date
The sleep-analysis pick, with a published fee

OURA Ring 4 view ›

m8d verdict

For anyone who wants to understand their sleep rather than just count it, and accepts that the interpretation is paid for separately. Oura publishes its fee with price and date, one included month for new members and the exact list of what still works if you stop paying, which is more transparency than anyone else in this category gives. Over three years the membership is a second price on top of the ring, so it belongs in the sum from day one: the calculator in this guide does it for you.

What you should know
  • Oura publishes its UK membership price on ouraring.com, monthly or yearly, with a free trial month for new members (read on 22 September 2026); the calculator in this guide adds it to the ring for you. Its help centre adds that "New members receive one included month of Oura Membership".
  • It also publishes what is left if you cancel: "you'll only be able to see your three daily Oura scores (Readiness, Activity, and Sleep), ring battery, basic profile information, app settings, and the Explore content". The ring keeps measuring; the interpretation is what the fee pays for.
  • Its listing declares up to 8 days of battery, and Oura's own help puts it at "typically 5-8 days". The maker's range starts three days below the number in the title, and that is the figure worth doing sums with.
  • The app asks for iOS 16 or later, or Android 11 or later with Google Play services, and Bluetooth 5.0 (Oura help, read by m8d on 8 September 2026). It works with an iPhone, which is the question that comes up most in this family.
  • The sizing kit comes separately and before the ring: Oura uses "only whole sizes (no half sizes)" and they "differ slightly from standard US ring sizes" (Oura help, updated 10 August 2026). It is not an optional extra, it is step one.
+Pros
  • Its fee is published with price, currency and date for the UK
  • Publishes exactly what you still see if you stop paying
  • Requirements published: iOS 16 and Android 11 with Google Play services
  • One included month of membership for new members, in writing
−Cons
  • The membership is added to the price every month you wear it
  • Its own help says 5 to 8 days, while the title only shows the 8
  • The sizing kit is bought separately and before the ring
See it on Amazon ›Price and availability shown on Amazon for your country
opove O Ring smart ring with sleep, heart rate and stress tracking, no subscription and 8 to 12 days of battery declared in its listing
The middle tier, with battery and fee both declaredopove O Ring view ›

For anyone who does not want to spend what the big names cost and does not want the bottom tier either. It is one of the few rings whose title states both things everyone decides on: the battery, 8 to 12 days, and no subscription. It comes with a caveat said up front: there is no maker's spec page to check it against, so everything known about it is what its own listing says.

View ›
ULTRAHUMAN Ring AIR smart ring for sleep, heart rate variability and stress, with no fee to access your data, for iOS 15 and Android 6
The widest phone compatibility, with extras sold separatelyULTRAHUMAN Ring AIR view ›

For anyone with an older phone, or who wants guidance rather than raw numbers. Its maker publishes the lowest requirements on the whole list, iOS 15 or Android 6, and writes that there is no fee to access your own data. The detail worth knowing before rather than after: it sells optional extras separately, from software add-ons to a protection plan, which do not lock your data but are extra money if you take them.

View ›
The costly mistake

What size smart ring to order: why your UK ring size does not carry over, and why makers sell a sizing kit first

Size is the part of this purchase that goes wrong most easily, and the makers say so in their own words. Oura's help (updated 10 August 2026) says it uses "only whole sizes (no half sizes)" that "differ slightly from standard US ring sizes", and the John Lewis smart ring guide says smart rings "don't map onto standard UK ring sizes and can't be adjusted later"; it also offers fitting in its shops. Your jewellery size, from A to Z, is not the number to order. We would buy the sizing kit before the ring every time: Oura sells a different one for each generation, and its sizes run from 4 to 15 on the Ring 4 and from 6 to 13 on the Ring 5.

How to get a smart ring size right, step by step
  • A smart ring size is not a jewellery size. The band is thicker because the battery sits inside, so the same number fits differently. UK jewellery sizes are letters; smart ring makers use their own numbers.
  • Buy the kit first, from the same brand. Oura sells one kit for the Ring 4 and another for the Ring 5, and the size ranges differ. A kit from one brand does not size another.
  • Wear it for a day and a night. Oura asks you to wear the sizer "for a full day, including while you sleep", and to try it on both hands and different fingers, because fingers change size with temperature, activity and sleep.
  • The index finger comes first. It is Oura's first recommendation for the best reading, and RingConn adds the middle and ring fingers as valid alternatives. Avoid fingers whose knuckle is much wider than the base: the ring goes on tight and then spins.
  • And if a listing only gives a size number, measure before ordering. Rings sold size by size with no kit, like the ceramic one in this guide, leave the fit to you.
Oura Ring 4 Sizing Kit, the set of sample rings the brand asks you to use before buying the ring
Step one, before the ring

OURA Ring 4 Sizing Kit view ›

m8d verdict

For not wasting money on the part of this purchase that goes wrong most easily. It is not an accessory: it is what the brand asks you to do first, and its help explains why in its own words. A smart ring that spins loses contact with the sensor at night, which is exactly when it has to record, and one that pinches cannot be worn around the clock.

What you should know
  • Oura's help says it uses "only whole sizes (no half sizes)" that "differ slightly from standard US ring sizes", and the John Lewis smart ring guide says smart rings "don't map onto standard UK ring sizes". Your jewellery size, letter and all, does not carry over.
  • Oura asks you to wear the sample ring "for a full day, including while you sleep", and to try it on both hands and different fingers: fingers change size with temperature, activity and sleep.
  • The kit belongs to one model: Oura sells one for the Ring 4 and another for the Ring 5, and their sizes differ (4 to 15 against 6 to 13).
+Pros
  • The brand itself asks for it before the ring
  • Worn for a full day and night, it tries the fit where it matters
  • Avoids a ring that spins or pinches
−Cons
  • Only for the Ring 4: the Ring 5 has its own
  • Adds a few days of waiting before you can order the ring
See it on Amazon ›Price and availability shown on Amazon for your country
UK consumer law

Your rights on a smart ring in the UK: 30 days to reject, the app as part of the goods, and six years to claim

A smart ring is goods with digital content, and UK law treats the app side of it as part of what you bought. Under section 16 of the Consumer Rights Act 2015, goods that include digital content do not conform to the contract if that digital content does not conform. Section 9 lists durability among the aspects of satisfactory quality, which matters on a sealed ring whose battery cannot be swapped.

What UK law gives you on a smart ring, and what the maker's warranty adds

Two different things protect you and they are easy to mix up: your statutory rights against the retailer, which no warranty can take away, and the maker's own warranty, which comes on top. These are the dated sources for each.

30 days to reject
Section 22 of the Consumer Rights Act 2015 sets the short-term right to reject at the end of 30 days, counted from the day after the ring is yours and delivered. If it is faulty in that window, you can ask for a refund rather than a repair.
Six months, and the burden is on the seller
Section 19(14): goods that do not conform "at any time within the period of six months beginning with the day on which the goods were delivered" are taken not to have conformed on that day, unless the seller shows they did.
Six years to bring a claim
In England and Wales, section 5 of the Limitation Act 1980 gives six years to bring a claim founded on a contract. It is not a six-year guarantee: the fault has to come from the ring not being of satisfactory quality, durability included, when it was sold.
What the maker's warranty adds
Oura's warranty page (updated 18 August 2026) says "many countries outside the US include a two-year warranty" and lists "Consumable parts, including batteries" among what its warranty does not cover. Ultrahuman gives one year from delivery for "defects in materials and workmanship" and puts its battery at roughly 500 charging cycles.

m8d rule: Your claim for a faulty ring is against the shop that sold it, not the brand, and the maker's warranty never replaces it. Keep the proof of purchase, and if the battery gives out long before the cycles its maker quotes, durability is the word to use.

The method

How these smart rings were chosen, and where each figure comes from

How the selection was made

Every figure in this guide carries its source and its date. The selection comes from the smart ring catalogue m8d tracks: on 8 September 2026 m8d went through Amazon's Spanish store with eleven searches for the family and counted 57 distinct smart ring listings, which are 27 different rings from 21 brands, noting what each title states about battery, sensors, material, water resistance, app, fee and size. Model availability varies from one country to another, and the buttons take you to Amazon's store for yours.

Four criteria decide the order, and none of them is a shop rating. One, whether the total cost can be closed before paying: a ring whose maker does not publish whether its app charges has no known price, and that moves it down. Two, what the maker's own spec page declares, not the listing: battery, phone requirements and material. Three, whether the app has a name you can check before buying. Four, whether it solves a specific case, such as an old iPhone, two weeks without charging or trying the format, rather than listing the most acronyms.

The UK figures were read on 22 September 2026: Oura's membership price on ouraring.com, its membership, warranty, sizing and medical help pages, RingConn's product and comparison pages, Ultrahuman's FAQ, Samsung's UK Galaxy Ring page, the John Lewis sizing advice, and the Consumer Rights Act 2015 and Limitation Act 1980 on legislation.gov.uk. The Ring 5 figures come from Oura's help as updated on 27 July 2026. Fees and requirements are reviewed every quarter, because they are the figures that change without warning.

Smart ring questions
What does a smart ring actually do?

It reads signals from your finger continuously and without a screen: heart rate, heart rate variability, skin temperature, blood oxygen and movement. The maker's app turns those signals into sleep, activity and recovery trends. It has no GPS and no screen, so it is no use for live training, and it does not diagnose anything: Oura writes that "Oura Ring is not a medical device and is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, monitor, or prevent medical conditions or illnesses" (help page updated 14 July 2026).

How much does the Oura Ring membership cost in the UK?

£5.99 a month or £69.99 a year, as published on ouraring.com on 22 September 2026, and new members get one included month. Over three years that is £209.65 on the monthly plan or £209.97 paying yearly, on top of the ring itself. Oura's help says there is currently no lifetime membership to buy.

Is an Oura Ring worth it without membership?

It depends on what you bought it for. Without an active membership, Oura's help says you only see the three daily scores (Readiness, Activity and Sleep), ring battery, basic profile information, app settings and the Explore content, and you cannot access the Oura API. If a daily score is enough, it still does that; if you wanted the trends and guidance, those are what the fee pays for.

Which smart ring is best without a subscription?

Among the makers that publish it in writing, RingConn (Gen 2 Air and Gen 3, "Subscription Fee: No" in its comparison table) and Ultrahuman (Ring AIR, "no recurring subscription fees for accessing your data"). Of those, the Gen 2 Air is this guide's pick for most people and the Gen 3 declares the longest battery, up to 14 days.

Does a smart ring work with an iPhone?

Yes, except the Samsung Galaxy Ring, whose UK page asks for an Android 11 phone and three Samsung apps. The published minimums: Ultrahuman asks for iOS 15, Oura for iOS 16 and RingConn for iOS 17. Budget rings rarely publish any minimum version in their listing.

Which finger should a smart ring go on?

The index finger, which is Oura's first recommendation for the best reading. RingConn adds the middle and ring fingers as valid alternatives because their blood vessels are larger. Avoid fingers whose knuckle is much wider than the base: the ring goes on tight and then spins, and a spinning ring loses contact with the sensor at night.

Can you wear a smart ring in the shower or the sea?

Usually yes, but check which scale the maker uses. IP68, as on the BANLVS R09, covers dust and immersion; Oura declares "100m/328ft, suitable for sauna and water sports but not diving" for the Ring 5. If a listing states neither, treat the ring as splash-proof and nothing more.

Is a smart ring better than a smartwatch?

For sleep and habits, the ring, because it does not get in the way and lasts days without charging, so it records the nights a watch spends on its charger. For training, the watch, because a ring has no GPS or screen to give you pace or route live. Many people wear both, and that is the honest answer: they do not do the same job.

What are the downsides of smart rings?

Four that are easy to check before buying: the size has to be right first time because a ring cannot be adjusted, the battery is sealed and wears with charging cycles (Ultrahuman puts it at roughly 500), some apps charge a monthly fee (Oura's is £5.99 in the UK), and the cheapest rings often do not say what their app is called.

What are my rights if a smart ring stops working in the UK?

Your claim is against the retailer under the Consumer Rights Act 2015: 30 days to reject a faulty ring for a refund, a presumption in your favour for faults that show within six months of delivery, and, in England and Wales, six years under the Limitation Act 1980 to bring a claim if the ring was not durable enough. The maker's warranty comes on top of that; it does not replace it.

The sources of this guide

Every figure that does not come from the catalogue has its origin here, with the date it was read.

  1. OuraOura Membership (UK price)£5.99/month or £69.99/annually and a free trial month for new members. Read on 22 September 2026
  2. Oura help centreOura Membership: what you see without it, the included month and the lifetime optionThe three daily scores, ring battery, profile, settings and Explore content without membership; no access to the Oura API; one included month for new members; no lifetime membership on offer. Updated 8 September 2026, read on 22 September 2026
  3. Oura help centreWarranty FAQsTwo-year warranty in many countries outside the US; consumable parts, including batteries, excluded. Updated 18 August 2026, read on 22 September 2026
  4. Oura help centreHow to choose the right Oura Ring sizeWhole sizes only, different from standard US sizes; wear the sizer for a full day and night; Ring 5 in sizes 6 to 13, Ring 4 in sizes 4 to 15. Updated 10 August 2026, read on 22 September 2026
  5. Oura help centreDiscover Oura Ring 540% less volume, 6.09 mm wide, 2.28 mm thick, typically 6 to 9 days, 100 m water resistance, and the same features as the Ring 4 with an active membership. Updated 27 July 2026, read by m8d on 8 September 2026
  6. Oura help centreOura and medical conditionsNot a medical device. Updated 14 July 2026, read on 22 September 2026
  7. RingConnRingConn Gen 2 Air spec pageiOS 17.0+, Android 10.0+, up to 10 days, coated steel and epoxy resin. Read on 22 September 2026
  8. RingConnRingConn comparison: Gen 3, Gen 2 and Gen 2 AirUp to 14, 12 and 10 days; titanium on the Gen 3 and Gen 2; vibration alerts and vascular trends on the Gen 3 only; Subscription Fee: No. Read on 22 September 2026
  9. RingConnRingConn cost guideNo monthly subscription fee for current RingConn rings. Published 26 June 2026, read by m8d on 8 September 2026
  10. RingConnBest finger for a smart ringIndex, middle and ring fingers for the optical reading. Read by m8d on 8 September 2026
  11. UltrahumanUltrahuman Ring AIR FAQiOS 15 and Android 6, about 4 to 6 days, about 500 charging cycles, no recurring fee to access your data, a one-year warranty, PowerPlugs and UltrahumanX. Read on 22 September 2026
  12. Samsung UKGalaxy Ring (UK)Android 11.0 or above and 1.5 GB of memory; Galaxy Wearable, Samsung Health 6.27 or above and a Samsung account. Read on 22 September 2026
  13. John LewisSmart ring buying guideSmart rings do not map onto standard UK ring sizes and cannot be adjusted later; fitting in its shops. Read on 22 September 2026
  14. legislation.gov.ukConsumer Rights Act 2015, section 22The 30-day short-term right to reject; sections 9 (satisfactory quality and durability), 16 (goods with digital content) and 19(14) (the six-month presumption) of the same Act. Read on 22 September 2026
  15. legislation.gov.ukLimitation Act 1980, section 5Six years to bring an action founded on simple contract, England and Wales. Read on 22 September 2026
  16. m8d.iom8d's count of Amazon's Spanish store57 distinct smart ring listings, 27 rings from 21 brands, over eleven searches of the family on 8 September 2026

If you ask us for a ring to wear every day without thinking about bills, the RingConn Gen 2 Air: it declares its days of battery, publishes its phone requirements and its maker writes that the app charges no fee, so the label price is the final price. If what you want is sleep analysis and you will use it, the Oura Ring 4, with £209.65 of membership over three years counted from day one rather than discovered in month two. And if you do not yet know whether you will wear a ring at night, the BANLVS R09 answers that question at the budget end.

One thing above all three. In this category the hardware is the cheap part and the software is the product, and there are two ways of charging for it: a fee you can see and an app you cannot inspect before paying. The first can be added up, compared and decided. The second cannot, which is why the question that saves most money is not how many sensors a ring has, but what its app is called.

RingConn Gen 2 Airm8d pick · the total you can close before payingRingConn Gen 2 AirSee it on Amazon ›
OURA Ring 4The sleep-analysis pick, with a published feeOURA Ring 4See it on Amazon ›
BANLVS R09The entry ring that declares the mostBANLVS R09See it on Amazon ›

Comparison: RingConn Gen 2 Air vs OURA Ring 4 vs BANLVS R09The three side by side, with what this guide says about each

RingConn Gen 2 AirFor most peopleRingConn Gen 2 AirView ›
OURA Ring 4For sleep analysisOURA Ring 4View ›
BANLVS R09To try the formatBANLVS R09View ›
Who it is for
M8d pick · the total you can close before paying
The sleep-analysis pick, with a published fee
The entry ring that declares the most
m8d verdict
For anyone who wants sleep data every night without a monthly bill behind it. Its maker publishes the battery figure, the app requirements and, in its own comparison table, "Subscription Fee: No". With those three things the label price is the final price, which is what lets you compare it honestly with any other ring. It is the pick of this guide for a first ring.
For anyone who wants to understand their sleep rather than just count it, and accepts that the interpretation is paid for separately. Oura publishes its fee with price and date, one included month for new members and the exact list of what still works if you stop paying, which is more transparency than anyone else in this category gives. Over three years the membership is a second price on top of the ring, so it belongs in the sum from day one: the calculator in this guide does it for you.
For checking whether the format suits you before spending several times more, and for a low-risk gift. Its listing names a temperature sensor, heart rate variability, blood oxygen and IP68, which is more than most budget rings declare. What it does not say is how long the battery lasts or what its app is called, and those are the two things to check before paying.
Fee
None, per its maker
Monthly or yearly membership
No subscription, per its listing
Declared battery
Up to 10 days
8 days in the listing, 5 to 8 in its help
Not stated
iPhone
iOS 17 or later
iOS 16 or later
Not stated in its listing
Android
Android 10 or later
Android 11 with Google Play
Not stated in its listing
App
RingConn
Oura
Not stated
Pros
  • Writes its days of battery on its own spec page
  • Its maker states in writing that the app charges no fee
  • iOS and Android requirements published with their minimum version
  • A sizing kit of its own, sold separately, to try the size first
  • Its fee is published with price, currency and date for the UK
  • Publishes exactly what you still see if you stop paying
  • Requirements published: iOS 16 and Android 11 with Google Play services
  • One included month of membership for new members, in writing
  • Names the temperature sensor in its title
  • Declares IP68, which covers the shower and wet hands
  • Its listing states that the app has no subscription
  • The tier where you can try the format without committing the budget
Cons
  • Coated steel rather than titanium: its maker keeps titanium for the models above
  • No vibration alerts or vascular trends, which its table marks as Gen 3 only
  • The shop listing does not name the app you need to see everything
  • The membership is added to the price every month you wear it
  • Its own help says 5 to 8 days, while the title only shows the 8
  • The sizing kit is bought separately and before the ring
  • Does not say how many days the battery lasts
  • Does not name its app, so you cannot check it before buying
  • Its model number is also sold under other brand names

Comments

Be the first

No sign-up: just a name. Every comment is reviewed before it is published.